About Södertörn University

Students outside the main entrance of Södertörn University.Södertörn University provides high quality research and education at all levels, offering a friendly atmosphere and an inspiring environment. Our modern, attractive campus is located in Flemingsberg, 19 minutes from central Stockholm on the commuter train.

Södertörn University combines interesting subjects to make engaging and often unique degrees. We offer 350 courses and 60 programmes, and currently have 13 000 enrolled students. We conduct education and research in the humanities, social sciences, technology and natural science. We also offer teacher education with an intercultural profile. Research into the Baltic region and Eastern Europe forms a knowledge environment that is among the best in the world.

University Structure

Södertörn University's organisation is based on four academic schools that are responsible for education and research. The Governing Board is the top decision-making body at the university and includes the Vice-Chancellor among its members. The university has a Faculty Board that has overall responsibility for quality and a library with management that reports directly to the Vice-Chancellor. The central administration is led by the Chief Administrative Officer and primarily contributes administrative support to the rest of the university's organisation.

The Governing Board of Södertörn University has an overview of all business that concerns the university and is responsible for it fulfilling its obligations. The board takes decisions about the overall focus of activities, the university's organisation and internal allocation of resources. It also takes decisions about the annual report, interim reports and the budget.

The Executive Management of the university comprises Vice-Chancellor Moira von Wright, who is the responsible authority as regards the university's activities and operation. It also includes Pro-Vice-Chancellor Sören Jansson and Pro-Vice-Chancellor Nils Ekedahl, as well as Acting Chief Administrative Officer Hans Andersson.

Boards and committees are appointed by the Vice-Chancellor and prepare for and advise on issues that relate to the university.

The Faculty Board at Södertörn University is tasked with reviewing and maintaining the quality of courses and programmes as well as planning and coordinating undergraduate education.

The academic schools are responsible for providing education and research, as well as for all other activities, including staff, students, financing, premises and work environment. Subjects, degree programmes and centres all belong to a specific academic school.

Each school is run by a head of school, who is head and the academic and educational leader.

 University Structure (pdf)

Academic schools at Södertörn University

  • School of Social Sciences
  • School of Historical and Contemporary Studies
  • School of Culture and Education
  • School of Natural Sciences, Technology and Environmental Studies

Teacher Education is located in the School of Culture and Education, but has its own director and administration, while the teachers are contracted from other academic schools.

Central administration

Central administration has the following departments and units and is run by the Chief Administrative Officer. Each department is run by a director or head of unit.

  • Academic Office
  • Communication and Public Relations
  • Executive Support Services
  • Facilities Management
  • Finance and Auditing
  • Human Resources
  • ICT Services
  • Student Support Services